World Book Day 2017 – My favourite books from the last couple of years

A fellow bookworm friend who is a Wiccan asked me not long ago what my favourite books from the last couple of years have been, and if I’d recommend any. Luckily – since brain fog means my memory is atrocious right now – I have been writing down what books I’ve read since 2014 and rating them so I have something to refer back to. Any with a rating of 7 are ones I might read again, but ratings of 8 or above are the ones that gave me the most information and/or enjoyment. It’s rare for me to give a 9 or 10. I thought it might be interesting to share, but bear in mind any read before 2014 that I enjoyed won’t be on here. Perhaps I can do an ‘all-time favourites’ post some time.

Note: Apologies that it’s not categorized or listed properly. I wanted to fix that but I haven’t been able to use the computer for over a week and I’m relying on my phone due to being stuck in bed. I also have bad migraines atm.

Here are the books I rated 8+:

  • Encyclopedia of Spirits by Judika Illes.
  • The Love of Destiny: The Sacred and Profane in Germanic Polytheism by Dan McCoy.
  • Vikings: a History by Neil Oliver.
  • Embracing Heathenry by Larisa Hunter.
  • The Crane Bag: Ogham Oils and Essences by Roisin Carroll.
  • Journey to the Dark Goddess by J Meredith.
  • The Lost Gods of England by Brian Branston.
  • Aura Soma by Irene Dalichow.
  • Nid, Ergi and Old Norse Moral Attitudes by Folke Strom (research paper).
  • Scandinavian Mythology by H.R.Ellis Davidson
  • The Lost Beliefs of Northern Europe by H.R.Ellis Davidson
  • Roles of the Northern Goddess by H.R. Ellis Davidson
  • Images of Set: Changing Impressions of a Multi-faceted God by Joan Ann Lansberry
  • Goddesses and the Divine Feminine by R.R.Ruether
  • The Book of English Magic by Philip Carr-Gomm and R Hygate
  • The Gentleman and the Faun by R. Ogilvie Crombie
  • Brigid: Meeting the Celtic Goddess of Poetry, Forge and Healing Well by Morgan Daimler
  • Playing With Fire: an Exploration of Loki Laufeyjarson by Dagulf Loptson
  • Walking the Heartroad by Silence Maestas
  • Daring Greatly by Brene Brown
  • Mind Over Medicine by Lissa Rankin
  • Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom by Christiane Northrup
  • From a Drop of Water by Kim Huggens
  • Bach Flower Therapy by Mechthild Scheffer
  • The Hummingbird’s Journey to God by Ross Heaven
  • Plant Spirit Wisdom by Ross Heaven
  • Green Spirit: Path to a New Consciousness by M. Van Eyk McCain and various
  • Elves, Wights and Trolls by Kvedulf Gundarsson
  • Pagan Portals: Fairy Witchcraft by Morgan Daimler
  • Julian of Norwich: a Very Brief History by Janina Ramirez
  • Walking With the Gods by W.D. Wilkerson
  • Active Hope: How to Face the Mess We’re in Without Going Crazy by Joanna Macy and Chris Johnston
  • Holding Space: a Guide to Supporting Others While Remembering to Take Care of Yourself First by Amanda Dobra Hope
  • Upon This Mountain: Prayer in the Carmelite Tradition by Mary McCormack
  • The Alchemy of Illness by Kat Duff
  • ENUFF: Eliminate the Needless, Useless, Foolish and Frivolous by Kate Carpenter.
  • The Minimalist Lifestyle by P Morrisey.
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying by Maria Kondo
  • DIY Bath Salts by Sarah McMillan
  • Bath Bombs for Beginners by Family Traditions
  • Green Guide for Artists by Karen Michel
  • The Owl Who Liked Sitting on Caesar by M Windrow
  • Wesley by Stacey O’Brien
  • Beautiful Ever After by Katie Piper
  • Silence and Shadows by James Long
  • Ferney by James Long
  • Akhenaten: Dweller in Truth by Naghib Mahfouz
  • Giants of the Frost by Kim Wilkins
  • Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant
  • The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris
  • The Atholl Expedition by Alex Roddie
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • some of the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon – yes, when my brain needs to switch off my guilty pleasure is Paranormal Romance.
Leave a Reply

