Channeling Isis – when Set arrives legless

One of my more recent tasks has been to reconnect with the Egyptian God Set. This Deity has fascinated me for years. With the breaking down of my old self I realise that my focus needs to be more balanced. Although Loki and Family are still truly Beloved to me, I have neglected ties with many of my Beloved Egyptian Deities.

As recompense I said prayers to Set, asking Him if He still wished to work with me, and if He would grant me His protection. I said I would like to buy a bigger statue for Him, as the current one was only around 2 inches high – the smallest on the altar. A good Set statue is hard to find in the UK, and I looked online but couldn’t find one.

Two days later I was sat in front of my altar and my attention was drawn to a book on my right. It was an Ancient Egyptian Herbal by Lise Manniche. I had done bits of bibliomancy before, so took the hint and turned to a random page. The entry was for Watermelon. According to the book Watermelon was created when Set spilled his seed chasing Isis in the form of a bull. It was used in a wine for protection against evil ‘demons’. Since I’d asked for Set’s protection during a very difficult and vulnerable time I took it as a sign. I looked online for Watermelon wine but to no avail. I did, however, come across some Watermelon liqueur. Asking Set through my pendulum whether he would like the liqueur for offerings I got a resounding “Yes” and ordered it.

Later that afternoon I got an ebay alert saying a Set statue had been listed! Now, you could look at this as three completely unconnected, random events, but I choose not to. To me this is cause and effect: you pray and make reparations, you ask for help, and express a wish to more openly honour Them, and They respond.

One week later Set’s statue arrived… His legs had been broken off in transit. I wondered if it was just bad luck, but when I sat and asked for guidance I received a surprising answer: for Set to help me stand strong on my own two feet I needed to involve myself in a bit of like-for-like ‘magic’. I have repaired and renewed Deity statues before, and in doing so with Set’s statue I would be channeling my inner Isis; my inner healer and magic worker. Isis pieced her husband Osiris back together, so taking on Her mantle and fixing Set was setting Him back on His own two feet, helping His statue stand strong. In turn He could do the same for me.

P1060971 - Copy

Does that look like a happy face to you?

The Egyptians believed that statues actually become receptacles for the Deities, and so any statue could provide a ‘home’ or respite for the Deity. Even in His broken state Set’s statue exuded power. I couldn’t help but look at it. It’s a feeling I have very strongly with my beautiful statue of Bast, and to a lesser extent with my other Deity statues.

A few days ago I was well enough to piece Set back together again, and restore His dignity as well as His stride. I got a really strong feeling of approval when I was finally able to place Him on the altar, resplendent and standing tall. I made an offering of the Watermelon liqueur, and anointed Him with Lotus oil along with my other Beloveds. Since then I have made some steps forward – baby steps, but progress all the same. As an apology for Set arriving damaged the seller is also sending me a statue of Thoth/ Djehuty, so that’s a nice surprise – I’ve been reconnecting with Him too.

P1070117 - Copy - Copy

Set standing resplendent with His mini-me, beside Maahes and Sekhmet

I am grateful to Set for coming back into my life, offering His protection and guidance, and showing me that They are truly forgiving. It also shows me that if we have the genuine desire to reconnect it can happen.

2 thoughts on “Channeling Isis – when Set arrives legless

  1. Absolutely awesome story! I had similar experience while buying the rune set. It had 2 stones missing. Through divination I was told to keep it. The seller sent the stones later. It is my most responsive rune set. The Powers do come through. Your Set statue is beautiful, and it is not incidental you had been able to repair it! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

